Jaw Surgery Diet eBook – It’s Here!

It’s here: 87 Ways to Eat After Jaw Surgery.

I had mentioned in an earlier post about wanting to share a recipe list that worked for me while undergoing the early stages of jaw surgery recovery.  I finally finished this list along with a number of recommendations on what to buy when entering jaw surgery.  Finally!  Yay!  <I’m doing the Carlton dance>

It’s been a little over 3 months since my surgery and while I haven’t recovered 100%, I’ve made quite the progress in eating.  I remember the days when it was difficult to find new  foods to eat.

The Early Days

jaw-surgery-syringe

The early days were even more difficult.  I’m not sure I want to remember the days of when I was eating through a syringe.  Those days were difficult.  Back then I didn’t think I needed an extensive food list.  I thought, I can totally survive on soup, ice cream and applesauce.  Pfft…Please….was I wrong!

Day 4 – Can’t Survive on McFlurry’s

cookie-mcflurryBy Day 4, I was starving.  I had my husband drive me to McDonalds to get a McFlurry.  I blended it at home and was upset that I couldn’t fit the cookie bits through the syringe. Not the healthiest choice but I was desperate!  I then attempted to slurp it through my teeth.  I looked like a crazed animal.  It was such a mess.  My husband thought it would be a great idea to blend up Cream of Wheat….gross!  That didn’t go well.  And blending up chicken noodle soup was worse.  The consistency turned me off.

Day 8 – Lost Too Much

By Day 8, I had lost 10 or maybe it was 11 pounds.  I faintly remember.  I started at 121 pounds and the weight was just melting off. I realized I had to get involved and make some adjustments to what I was getting for food!

Many Recipes

It’s taken me quite some time to finish this list but it’s finally done!!  I have over 70 recipes, including a fantastic array of unique smoothie recipes, along with many soups and soft foods that don’t require chewing.

I hope this can help people who are about to have surgery.  Planning does help.  Especially if you don’t have enough family and friends to help for the first 2 weeks.

ImageAnd here it is… Introducing a recipe list!!  Full of…..

Foods you don’t chew.  Foods that help you survive.  Foods that are actually yummy.  No you aren’t just going to eat ice cream this whole time.  Yes, you will try to mix it up.  Sustainable foods?  Yes.  Will it replace a hamburger?  Well, I ain’t gonna lie.  That’s impossible in liquid form.  These are foods that are edible and will even include some pie flavors.  Yes, I said pie.  And I’ll also say chocolate.  Even SPINACH!  Your mom was right – You NEED your veggies.

Seriously, why the price?  I put a lot of work into list.   I’m not trying to be selfish.  With my extra time, I want to continue building off it, making it better and bigger!  So I hope ya’ll understand, which I’m sure you do.  Because you guys are just that awesome.

GET RECIPES NOW

5 responses

  1. Thanks for visiting and commenting on my blog. I’ve added you to the blogroll in my sidebar now (sorry about the delay). Best wishes on your recovery!

  2. Excellent idea, I tried blended pizza during my surgery… Safe to say I will NEVER be having that again x

    1. Haha…it’s amazing. It ends up in the same manner in our stomach but tastes SO different when pre-mixed in our mouths. Nasty!

  3. […] need to think about iron levels, leafy greens, protein, weight gain, vitamins, calories, zinc.  Find recipes that will help you avoid this issue.  […]

Leave a comment